Kitchen bench with storage

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blackbulldog

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I've just built a bench for our kitchen using CLS 38x89 for the frame and 18mm MDF for the cladding. I'm happy enough with the way it's turned out but feel that the technique I used to build the frame is a bit 'agricultural'.

I'm not experienced in building stuff like this so wondered if there was a more elegant way to build a kitchen bench with storage?

Pic of construction technique.
bench.png

One option might be to not have the "chassis" that you've made and just make the boxes from 18mm MDF (ideally MR MDF 'cos it's better) and pocket hole joints - and just a frame around the top for what I assume will some sort of seat board (is that to be upholstered?) to be fixed to

Hi, thanks for replying.

The top of the bench (the seat) has two hinged lids. See pic.

So, simply attach some timber around the top of the MDF to support these lids, that the idea?
I'd also need some support across the middle of the bench too, right?

Attachments

• bench2.jpg
    bench2.jpg
    209.7 KB · Views: 51
Pretty much what you have said - but is there a base? - your pic doesn't have one.

If the benches aren't going to be moved (i.e. they're "bench seating" as loved by Robert Jamison on Your House Made Perfect) then a simple top frame, center support and lift up panels would seem to work just fine. You could have saved the framing timber (CLS?)

Bit late now but to have sourced a garden bench cushion and built to that size would have been a good wheeze! (I did that for a job in a "library" in a house for a window seat)

One option might be to not have the "chassis" that you've made and just make the boxes from 18mm MDF (ideally MR MDF 'cos it's better) and pocket hole joints