Kids

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ben102009

Reaction score
This is relative to building in any trade although I'm a carpenter, I'm sure I'd like to have kids some day but for now I don't....in saying that, the amount of houses I have turned up to where the parents let their kids run around me or be generally present in my work environment is shocking.

People lacking general sense and common courtesy!

Not only do they infuriate me but it's dangerous, I'm half an hour away from drop kicking one of them over the wall, thanks.

If a hug doesn't do it for you, how about having a polite word
with the parents ?
Possibly they don't realise the issue.
Believe me, you'll see it differently once you've had children of
your own. :)

I knew this was going to be a no kids issues with people, it's very simple....if you have workers coming don't have kids around, it's hard to have a word sometimes, so it's best people use their common sense no?

You could think of it as you being in a very fortunate place and you may be the first working man they have seen, some of them may even grow up to want to be a joiner/carpenter. Tell them they can watch from a distance, but I do agree with you about the total lack of parental control and stupidity sometimes. Ian

When I had an earthmoving/landscaping business, child control was often an issue.
As Ian says, let them watch from a safe place. Set the boundaries, but don't
completely exclude them. It's exciting for them, and they want to watch. You might
be participating in forming their future ideas.
Not least of which, is how they perceive trades people.

I did a job a few years ago in Ballycastle. There was a kid running around asking questions and generally being a kid, he wasn't in any danger so I indulged him as his Granny was a repeat customer.