How things have changed

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wightbees

Reaction score
I'm by no means a professional Carpenter although I spend my first three years from leaving school as a cabinet maker for a local company, back in 1986 :-\ I notice that what I used to dunk in my cup of tea is now used for just about every hoping going lol....Biscuits haha does any one use the old method any more? Let alone what I been watching on YouTube of hanging cabinet doors !!

The question is more for cabinet makers really and was a bit of fun on my part, worded very badly, sorry. I can see this machine makes the job so much quicker but to me it seems to have taken some of the skill and enjoyment out of it.

I thought biscuits had gone out of fashion in favour of these things?

domino-square_0.png

It probably has. But at the same time are engineering students taught to file metal for 4 weeks like my grandad was when he apprenticed in the RAF in 1938. Time is money today, people want things quick and cheap.

Adidat

Lack of time in an ever increasingly busy world seems to be the problem (and profit of course).
Much to my own shame I made a gate frame with pocket screws and extra long deck screws yesterday (for myself, I wouldn't do that for someone else), rubbish way to do it but it was very quick.

adidat":hpicdbax said:
It probably has. But at the same time are engineering students taught to file metal for 4 weeks like my grandad was when he apprenticed in the RAF in 1938. Time is money today, people want things quick and cheap.

Adidat
Two friends of mine - one spent a year sweeping the workshop and priming and undercoating skirting boards, and the other had to file a perfect cube from a ball bearing. When preaching the benefits of apprenticeships people tend to forget things like that. :D