help in resawing logs for seasoning and turning

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Markvk

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All.

I'm new to turning and woodworking in general and I'm still putting all of my spare time into equipping and setting up my workshop. Ive been offered some sycamore and ive harvested some of it. Thing is I havnt a clue what to do with it from here.....Ive done some research and sussed a little about how to prepare it for bowl blanks, but I don't just want to make bowls!

What would be the best way to re saw this wood for seasoning without limiting me too much on what I can use it for?

ive also got some birch to sort out ill post picks later.

no 1

DSC_0116.jpg

DSC_0117.jpg

no 2

DSC_0118.jpg

DSC_0119.jpg

no 3

DSC_0120.jpg

Thanks.

Attachments

• DSC_0116.jpg
    DSC_0116.jpg
    232.5 KB · Views: 1,344
  • DSC_0117.jpg
    DSC_0117.jpg
    210.8 KB · Views: 1,344
  • DSC_0118.jpg
    DSC_0118.jpg
    209 KB · Views: 1,344
  • DSC_0119.jpg
    DSC_0119.jpg
    223.9 KB · Views: 1,344
  • DSC_0120.jpg
    DSC_0120.jpg
    220.6 KB · Views: 1,344
Too big for my bandsaw! its a chainsaw job.....

Bob the only bit in that sticky recommends sawing them down the middle along the grain and then sealing the end grain, would that be the best thing to do? or should I just seal the end grain? until I'm more certain of what to do? I'm particularly unsure of what to do with no 2...

Markvk":152zcja4 said:
Too big for my bandsaw! its a chainsaw job.....

Bob the only bit in that sticky recommends sawing them down the middle along the grain and then sealing the end grain, would that be the best thing to do? or should I just seal the end grain? until I'm more certain of what to do? I'm particularly unsure of what to do with no 2...

Hi Mark