Hello and router advice if possible

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark Karacsonyi

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Have joined the forum some time ago and been looking through past posts. Essentially have been off the tools for some time, have spent the last year plus, building them back up. Mainly famous/reputable names, Record/Marples, Robert Sorby, Ashley Iles, Record, veritas etc., via a well known bidding site, or via Axminster, as from my recent Stanley smoothing plane purchase, I guess some modern versions tend to not follow the same quality.

Although I am a chippy by trade, too many years in IT - now something has re-kindled the spirit howver my passion is for joinery and cabinet making.

Am a regular reader of Fine Woodworking magazine and its site - and Practical woodworking, also no longer living in the UK, but in central Europe. So I would like to say hello.

I am looking at building a router table, MDF is the way I will go, with beech carcassing. However I am looking at routers. I guess as I will be buying the Axminster elevator from UKJ Technology *and read in a past thread about keeping it dry lubricated the extraction to keep the dust of the chain/sprockets - sound advice*, I am wondering what router I should be looking at to compliment it.

Seems our American cousins seem to go for fixed base routers, with a 1/2" collets. I am wondering if I should be looking at something similar, unless I butcher a plunge router if so, does anyone have any ideas - which do not go into the Festool priice bracket, the lottery over here is not that fantastic?

Thanks in advance - Mark

Alveston Born":3d7mgzdy said:
too many years in IT - now something has re-kindled the spirit howver my passion is for joinery and cabinet making.
You sound like me - welcome back to daylight :)