Hanging a External Oak door HELP

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Markymark

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi

I am wanting to hang a new door I have bought for the house. I have never done this before but I have done a lot of other projects. The problem is that I want to avoid hacking at the plaster surround so I am hanging it on the orignal Frame. The door isslightly too big so will need adjusting.

My main Questions are:-

Do I use the hinge side of the door as a datum?
How do I mark accurately where to plane the door?

Any more advice from a seasoned door hanging professional would be greatly appreciated.

Mark

Place the old door on top of the new door and mark around it, adjusting the gap if the old one doesn't fit well.

Or measure the frame in several places (top middle and bottom) and check it the top is square to the sides and the floor isn't running out mark all the results on the new door.

I have done a few in my time, enough to know it can be a hugely frustrating job and I don't like hanging doors.

Pete

Could I just add the proviso that you check the old door is planed square on the edges before you use it as a template as you'll be marking the 'front' of the new door off of the 'back' of the old door. If the old door edges are chamfered towards the back you could end up taking too much off. Even a couple of mill will make a difference to the fit

Make sure top is square to the top of the frame before chopping butts out. I used to use a handful of 2p pieces to set the correct gap around the frame.

Remember that its easier planing it off than it is sticking it back on!

Racers":1eojwk6j said:
Place the old door on top of the new door and mark around it, adjusting the gap if the old one doesn't fit well.