Glue Block/Chucks

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dovetail2007

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

When I get my lathe, I shalln't be able to afford a chuck for a while, so I am going to use the glue block/chuck method.
Now, for the type of glue to use :)

I understand that most people use "Hot Melt Glue" - I have a lot of experience with this, though only using a £5 Maplins gun, but have found two problems:
1) My gun oozes a lot once it is warmed up, so I am reluctant to use it unless there is a lot to be done as once hot it is impossible to stop it from using up the remaining half stick or whatever and it ends up in a puddle, which cannot then be reused. Is this my gun or are they all like this?
2) The feedrate is quite slow, even having had it warming up for half an hour (and using copious amounts of glue in the process) I don't think I would be able to satisfactorily (sp..?) cover a faceplate sized blank before gluing onto the proper blank, before it has set. How much glue is needed to hold the blank on?

I know some people also use CA (Superglue) and people have commented about its high price. I can get this very cheaply and could use it - problem being again, how much is needed to get a good bond? Also, how do people "crack" the CA joint?

I know this sounds like a barrage of questions and I appologise :(

Cheers,

Sam

dovetail":1qt8d3b3 said:
1) My gun oozes a lot once it is warmed up, .... it is impossible to stop it from using up the remaining half stick or whatever and it ends up in a puddle, ....Is this my gun or are they all like this?
Sam, Poor gun I'm afraid if it drips more than a pea sized bead.
2) The feedrate is quite slow, even having had it warming up for half an hour
Poor gun again 5-10 min is all it should take and produce all you need for most tasks.