Experience with anti fatigue mats?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AJB Temple

Finely figured
Reaction score
I would welcome feedback from anyone who uses or has used anti fatigue mats in a workshop or factory environment. I have fairly severe heel pain currently from plantar fasciitis and also have some achilles injuries that are taking ages to heal. I have been wondering if anti fatigue mats would help to ease discomfort in my workshop, which has a suspended plywood floor.

Adrian

I work in a factory and can tell when I've been on a machine where there is no mat I'm on all day. Deff helps aches and pains and fatigue for me.

I fitted them in my workshop long ago. Never regretted it.

They also provide a little margin of error, should you drop something...

BugBear

Most of the areas where I stand to work are covered in the Axminster ones in my workshop - it's a concrete floor and as Bigstinka says you can tell when you've been working somewhere without them. Well worth having in my view.

They do make a big difference over standing on a concrete floor, I wouldn't be without mine which are of 3 different brands but all seem to be the same, the Rolson ones were the cheapest but I can see no discernible difference between the 3 makes.

Bought mine many yeas ago off a market stall, common cheapy brand often seen in discount stores, sometimes coloured to suit children's play areas, they have stood up to wear remarkably well, the difference on the feet and legs comfort is considerable.

Metal lathe debris has a habit of embedding in them but not a major problem for my low level use.

AJB Temple":1uyg2dqc said:
I have fairly severe heel pain currently from plantar fasciitis