Dust Disposal

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rich_N

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

My first post here.

Im very new to woodworking and I'm in the process of turning one end of my garage into a small shop. Ive seen all sorts of posts regarding dust extraction, but I can't find anything about how to dispose of collected dust and shavings.

What is the best way to get rid of bagged dust from a shop vac? Local tip? Refuse? Garden rubbish? For me it'll only be a small amount but I still want to dispose of it appropriately and safely.

Thanks,

Rich.

I have a guy who can't get enough of it. He uses it to grow mushrooms.
He's so keen, I'm considering charging him. :)

It may be rubbish, but......

Chippings from the thicknesser go to a farmer down the road for animal bedding, especially when he's lambing.

Dust from the saw and sweepings?
Mostly mixed in small quantities in the compost, but previously I had a neighbour who smoked cheese and he would take all the Oak shavings and saw dust, but it had to be clean Oak. He made some very nice cheeses.

Fine dust I just put in the bin (well skip) as its a mix of wood dust and all sorts of other workshop mess.
The chips from planing and moulding I mix into the compost heap, and around the garden. I give some away for the same purpose.

Be careful with giving it to people for pets or horse bedding etc. Its OK if its just pine but many hardwoods are toxic to animals and can kill guinea pigs and rabbits and give horses a kind of respiratory condition.

Ollie

In my part of Germany, we have different bins for the trash. The yellow is for plastics and other recyclable items, blue is for paper, brown is for bio, and black is for everything else that goes to the landfill.