Do you use dust collection with a Makita trim router?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BradyS

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Good day everybody!

I've been working pretty hard on my new workshop benches and now I got to the trimming edges part. I got myself one of the infamous Makita RT0700CX2, right after they announced end of production for this model.
Long story short, I have never used a trim/palm router before. I do have a small Black&Decker palm-ish router from the 80's but it's the plunge type. Adorable, but doesn't count.
So, my first experience with the beautiful Makita, superb machine. Too bad the edge was left kind of wavy. 😅 User error, yes, I took too much material off with a 6mm compression spiral flush trim bit (solid carbide). Next came a Freud top bearing flush trim bit (this one: https://www.freudtools.com/products/50-106). Btw, these bits really have long names in English.

Ok, now the thing is that edges still aren't perfect but I know it's a learning curve and that's ok. My question, addressed to all users of this model, is: Do you use dust collection with this Makita trim router? If yes, is the stock one or some aftermarket option. And, more important: do you use it with a shop vac hose OTHER than Festool's? Because my current setup, consisting of a regular Parkside shop vac hose connected to the stock dust extraction fitting that came in the box feel like an accident waiting to happen. Last night the hose (which isn't flexible enough and always seems to pull back) played a trick on me and I lost control of the router, had a pretty nasty near-miss. And left me with one corner of my shiny new workbench in need of remake.

My blabbering aside, I'm really curious for your input on this topic, also if dust extraction is necessary during edge trimming (for cleaner edges or to avoid ruining them).