DIY window shutters?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timberfly

Established Member
Reaction score
I have a tall, large window in our kitchen (about 2.2m high, 1.2m wide) and looking for options to replace an old roller blind. I like the look of shutters, but having them made up at that size seems really expensive. I've attached a couple of photos of the style from eBay. They wouldn't need to be "plantation" shutters (with the moveable slats in the middle), as the shutters would only be for privacy at night.

I'm still really new to woodworking, but my starting point would be 6mm MDF as a base (thin enough to reduce weight), with additional 6mm strips on top to make the panel moulding effect. Then filled, primed and painted, hinged together, and attached to the wall on each side. I'd need at least four panels in a concertina arrangement (two on each side) because of the available space horizontally, but I could also split the shutters half-way up (for eight panels total) if the height makes anything more complicated.

That seems quite cheap and easy to try, but I might be missing something obvious. I'm particularly unsure: (1) whether a surrounding frame is also necessary, and (2) whether 12mm of MDF at the edges will just buckle under so much weight.

What do you think? How would you go about it?

Attachments

• s-l1600-9.jpg
    s-l1600-9.jpg
    101.2 KB · Views: 0
  • s-l1600-10.jpg
    s-l1600-10.jpg
    114.6 KB · Views: 0
I made up plantation shutters for the living room a while back.

I discovered when thinking it out, that solid shutters take up a lot of space when open, or when being opened and closed.

If you're going to the trouble of making your own I'd go the extra mile and make the plantation ones which open and close in place.

If you don't count anything on your time, they're not too expensive