Dewalt DW615 newbie.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sigibbons

Established Member
Reaction score
Im looking at a Dewalt DW615 1/4" router for light duty work such as Hinge recesses, Lock recess, as i've got about 15 internal doors to hang in the near future. Im also looking at the Trend Hinge Jig and the Trend Lock jig.

Can anyone give me some feedback on anything i've mentioned.
Thanks.

Also i am in my last year of my carpentry apprenticeship, and 19yrs old.

[edit] i've bought the router now off ebay for the sum of £87 brand new, i think thats a fair price.

The Trend Lock Jig is a nice bit of kit, although it's a tad expensive for what it is (Trend, so I suppose that goes withot saying!).

The most difficult part is centering the jig on the door. Once that's done, the rest is very easy. Comes with loads of templates - I haven't found a lock it wouldn't cope with yet! :)

BTW, Welcome!

Ray.

If you do get the Trend jigs could you post your opinions of them here?

I'm 30, and finished my carpentry & joinery apprenticeship 11 years ago and I've still never used a router for hinge and lock recessing. I still use the ol' hammer and chisel way, but I've always found the router approach interesting. The only time I've used a router on a door was to cut the holes for letter plates

scooby":4f4m68b1 said:
If you do get the Trend jigs could you post your opinions of them here?

I'm 30, and finished my carpentry & joinery apprenticeship 11 years ago and I've still never used a router for hinge and lock recessing. I still use the ol' hammer and chisel way, but I've always found the router approach interesting. The only time I've used a router on a door was to cut the holes for letter plates

Yeah i will do mate.