Curved kitchen doors

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HOJ

Established Member
Reaction score
I have been asked to consider making a Kitchen, the only issue is that it has loads of curved doors, I have made curved veneered panels in the past using bendy ply and MDF etc with a vac press but not doors, as yet, the final style is to be confirmed, at the moment it is for a shaker style panel door.

I am trying to sell the idea of flat faced doors, using Ply with an HPL face and balancer, leaving the edges as exposed Ply.

Has anyone any advice and guidance to follow as to the best method of construction to adopt in the first instance (Shaker style), no budget has been discussed, but quotes from Kitchen designers are in the region of £20K (without work tops)

Kitchen.jpg

Attachments

• Kitchen.jpg
    Kitchen.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 398
I'm not a pro but helped build a few kitchens. If I were going to do a one off job like that I would look into buying them from a cabinet door company that specializes in curved doors. I searched for curved kitchen cabinet doors and found lots. One put a price on their website and a curved shaker door starts about 200 pounds so the corner doors represent more than 10% kitchen of what the designers told you if not a lot more. I can't see from the image you put up whether there are any curved drawers or just doors but they would be a consideration and making the cabinets will be more complex too. I would get the doors before making the cabinets if for no other reason than if the curvature ended up being out of tolerance a little you can adjust to fit them.

There are a lot better than this one below but it is a starting point.
http://www.qualitykitchensonline.com/pr ... tyleid=116