CHJ / powertool

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blister

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi gents

Any chance when you do your next turning you can do a set of work in progress photos for us new chips on the block ??

would help out so we can see if it looks the same as ours " before it finished

Its nice to see the finished items as well

:p :p

Yes of course,but it might be the weekend.
As long as you are aware that I am an enthusiastic amateur,and am in awe at the work produced by several other forum members :D

Andrew

Made it into the workshop this afternoon,after spending a couple of hours this morning precariously balanced up a stepladder changing a toilet cistern :shock:

So here's a few work-in-progress type pictures :-

Blank mounted on a faceplate ring with 16mm screws
Picture041Small.jpg

Then mounted on the lathe,and made a little more round

Picture042Small.jpg

Chucking recess made
Picture048Small.jpg

Base shaped
Picture049Small.jpg

Power sanded (dry) with 120 grit

Picture050Small.jpg

Then wet sanded (with wax,as this was to be the finish) by hand to 400 grit,and waxed
Picture051Small.jpg

Turned round,and the wall thickness and depth set with a parting tool
Picture054Small.jpg

Inside shaped with the trusty bowl gouge

Picture055Small.jpg

Again,power sanded with 120 grit

Picture056Small.jpg

And wet sanded to 400 grit and waxed

Picture057Small.jpg

Finished article :-

Picture060Small.jpg

Picture059Small.jpg

Oak,150mm diameter,20mm overall height

Andrew

powertool, thats a nice little bowl. many thanks for shareing it with us newbies. now ive got a couple of tools i can start to do somthing in the morning :roll:

I'll see if I can take some WIP photos as well next time I'm out - hopefully tomorrow. I've also got a load of finished turnings waiting to be photoed when I can be bothered...

Duncan