carving chisels - Pfeil and chisel size explanation

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodmani

Reaction score
Hi All,

My dad is a carpenter by trade and he has expressed an interest in doing wood carving so i thought i could get this for him for xmas. I had a look on rutlands.co.uk for carving chisels. My initial interest was to look for bahco (formly sandvik) or marples or stanley but marples are becoming antiques hence expensive and bahco don't seem to make carving chisels and my dad is not a big fan of the new stanely tools anymore as he says their new tools are not like their old ones, which he has. I have now come across Pfeil which is a swiss company. Any opinions on this manufacturer and the quality of their tools?

I also wanted to ask if you could kindly explain what the sizes mean when you are looking at carving chisel. Examples are as such:
1/12, 1s/12, 5/12, 4/20, 7/10, 9/4, 12/8

your help is much appreciated
Mani

Pfeils are good chisels, even better would be Dastra or Stubai; but they're close in quality.

The numbers denote shape and size, so, for example, 1/12 would be a #1 straight gouge (no curve) with a 12 mm edge. A 4/20 would be a #4 curve (more curve than #3, less than #5) with a 20 mm edge, as measured across the curve.

Pam

Hi Mani - since everyone else is being shy, allow me to say 'Welcome to the forum' :).

I don't know a lot about carving tools, but I've read around the subject since dabbling in carving is on my long list of things to do eventually.

This page will help explain the numbering, but basically there are two similar-but-different systems - the Sheffield and the European numbering systems, which describe the shape of the chisel blade. For example, straight chisels, or gouges of various radii, or bent gouges, and so on. Those are the first number.

The second number will be the size in millimetres.