BS400 Troubleshooting

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nibeht

Reaction score
HI All,

Hope someone can give me some possible solutions to my BS400 issues.

The BS400 stopped working recently and I suspected the power switch, this had played up before but a bit of jiggery pockery got it working again. Alas for a few goes only. I have received a new Power switch and swapped out. This allowed the machine to start up and the blade ran, however, the minute I tried to cut any sort of wood it would just click and power off. I thought I had perhaps miswired the switch but I double checked and all okay, however on my third try of starting the machine and testing with wood to see if I could smell burning or anything the machine decided to no longer start up.

I would add I am a novice to woodworking and my background definitely isn't electrics and machinery so any help/advice/insights would be gladly received. Machine is out of warranty and have had no joy finding someone to take a look at it in my location. Whilst I have had it since 2015, it really is a very rarely used machine.

Any insight would be appreciated as I now would like to avoid just buying another power switch for the same thing to happen, if in fact the power switch has gone again due to another component blowing it ?

With you having little or no electrical knowledge then you are better off trying to get help from someone who does . It could be something as simple as a damaged cable or loose connection but for safety reasons I’d not be comfortable in advising you directly. Unlikely to be the switch again but not impossible. More likely there is another issue that is the root cause of the fault. A good many members have this machine or similar so hopefully they will be able to help further .

Yes the BS400 is not complicated but having an electrical background would help.