Advice please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danomite

Reaction score
hi, i m feeling demoralised with my job i work at a company making english country kitchens and although i have enjoyed my work there, for atleast the last year i have grown increasingly bored with the work. Due to an increase in sales the company has started outsourcing more and more work to other companies getting doors made for example which has led to my job becoming less and less varied and more about mass production which i am not interested in at all. I am an assistent manager there, although i dont really have an interest in being a people manager, i also look after all machine maintenance and ordering timber. I am 27 and have no qualifications in woodwork, i do have a degree in music technology though. i feel like woodwork is the feild i want to work in as i love the material and am interested in making things. outside of work i have made a cedar strip surfboard, done a week course in timber framing and a week course getting a chainsaw liscence. anyways.... im feeling abit trapped at work and cant really see where i can go from here. i feel like i want to learn much more skills in woodwork and would like a creative streak to my career working on interesting projects. theres much more to say but im sure youve heard enough of my moaning by now if you lasted reading this far
any advice suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
cheers

Mod edit- kindly refrain from posting titles in CAPS.