Advice on weighing blanks please.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hobbyshop

Established Member
Reaction score
I am new to turning and have obtained several logs (of unknown species) to practice on.
I have rough turned a few pieces into shapes that approximate to bowl-shaped :lol: and am currently watching them dry and distort before remounting and finish turning them.

I have read about recording the weight of the items and re-weighing them occasionally until there is no further reduction in weight.
My question is, how often is occasionally? I haven't been able to find anything that is specific about this.
How long would you suggest waiting between subsequent weight checks to be happy that a stabilised weight really is just that.

Thanks,

Honestly the answer is a bit like the one for "how long is a piece of string"

1. How green was the wood when turned, was it freshly harvested, was it harvested in summer growth or dormant winter?
2. How big (diameter) are the items, how thick have you left the walls and base?
3. Have you masked the external surfaces at all to help control the moisture loss gradient?
4. Where have you stored them whilst drying?
5. Do you have any images of roughed out turnings?

Just some of the variables involved, drying to local ambient moisture level can be anything from a couple of weeks to six months dependant on timber type and storage conditions, shortest time being more risky, longer times being safer regarding likelihood of splitting.

Kevin,

I thought the drying time calculation was approx 1in/year. So if you've left the bowls 1in thick it will likely take a year to dry naturally. So if you want to weigh them about 1-2 months seems about right. I understand that if you draw the graph you see a noticeable drop in the line.