Advice on Planes

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AndyPandy

Reaction score
Hello

I'm relatively new to woodworking but I have quite a few older (maybe 10 / 15 years) hand planes. Stanley Bailey, Record mainly that are either new and unused or have been used at most a handful of times. They trange from the 9 1/2 through to No. 7. I've read about flattening the soles if necessary and I want to get these planes to be the best they can be for everyday use.

Should I change the blades, or just sharpen them to the best they can be and wait until it's necessary to change them? What else can I do to improve them for general use?

Thanks for any advice you can give me.

Andy

be prepared for an avalanche of directions down the slope :lol: :twisted:

almost every body agrees about blade replacement, and also maybe
the cap iron, but do it slowly, try with one, and see what it does for you, then maybe as and when you can improve others.

the important thing is to see what works for you. if you are happy with
the type of handle, then you have only a couple of things to do,
(whoops three)
1 make sure the base is flat and square to the sides.
2 remove the frog, and check that it is flat, and level along its
length, and all the screws are in good condition.
3. sharpen, and fettle blade and cap iron, and make sure they
fit properly.

then learn to make fine shavings, and also enjoy. :lol:

finally much as we might all tempt you get used to re-using
planes before you slide down the slope. :twisted:

so first buy some decent sharpening kit that y ou are happy to use.
if your experience is with oil stones, go back to them, and get sharp
before you try the other options.

all the best

paul :wink:

HI Andy
Welcome to the forum!