A bloke with big bowls.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peri

Established Member
Reaction score
Ok, I know its not technically a bowl, but 'A guy with a big cup' wouldn't have got your attention :)

I found this magazine cover on the net, and as a complete novice its really piqued my interest.

What does something like that weigh when it was first put on the lathe (ie before it was hollowed out).
Given that its going to be considerably heavier than a sack of spuds, how is it actually fixed to the lathe? It only appears to be supported at the one end, and even if it had some kind of metal rod arrangement going through the stem, the lathe its fixed to hardly looks capable of holding it without being pulled off its mountings.

8pvrq.jpg

Thank you for that - the more I find out the more interested I become :)

Haha, I know it can never be more then intellectual curiosity - if I tried to make something that big I'd have to stand outside my workshop and work on it through an open window :D

............. but the finished work does look so striking and beautiful ........... hmmm, I wonder where I put my hat and waterproof overalls ;P

I have always been fascinated by big turnings, thats why I got my wadkin RS. I have yet to turn something substantial yet. I wish I'd waited when I got my lathe as I've noticed there's been a few wadkin RU lathes for sale recently and one was the H variant which is the biggest made.

If I remember correctly the lathe "pedestal" is infact a poured concrete piller that he cast into his workshop floor the shaft is 6 inch diameter and supported on 2 huge bearings.
he uses big coach screws to mount the blank onto a huge faceplate when he starts and a portable crane to lift the blank up and on the lathe

Ian