A Beginner's SOS Call

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KarpEnter

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to the world of woodworking as well as UKWorkshop.

On viewing through the topics it was impressive to know how resouceful you guys are and come up with wonderful designs ( esp. in "Projects, workshop tours and past mistakes")

It will be immensely helpful for a beginner like me if I know where to start from. Are there any tutorials / videos / starting guides / beginner's exercises / fundamentals of woodworking articles available that would help ?

Can you please provide your suggestions around :...

1) Basic tools (power / handheld) necessary for a starter
2) Joints / cuts /
3) Any pre-requisite Skills
4) Wood drilling caveats
5) Wood Polishing - Varnishes, Paints, stains
6) Types of wood
7) Websites ? Books ? Courses ?
8 ) Others
9 (Screws vs Nails) Vs Joints
10) Bending Wood
11) Advanced skills
12) Skills building "First Projects"
13) Home workshop
14) Others

The above are only a general guide for the experts in particular areas to share their expertise. Please do provide any more information that I may have missed out.

This is my attempt to not only make a start but also collate things for any future enthusiast.

(Thanks to Niki and Neil for their repiles to my PM)

Regards,
KarpEnter
-------------------------------------------------
Any jackass can kick a barn down, but it takes a carpenter to build one - Sam Rayburn

Niki's reply to my earlier pm

Niki":2wgu20u6 said:
The first and most imported book to my opinion is:
"The complete manual of woodworking" by:
Albert Jackson
David Day
Simon Jennings
ISBN 0-697-76611-1 (from Amazon $25)
This book covers all the aspects of WW beginning with wood types, design, hand tools, power tool, machines, the home workshop, joinery, bending wood, veneering, carving, finishing and hardware.