Beginner seeking advice for buying timber

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nic_the_Urchin

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all.

I’m a relative beginner - I have some skills but really lacking some knowledge and confidence. I’ve read custard‘s great thread on buying hardwoods And it’s been really useful. But I’m seeking a resource (book/video/website) to learn about the thought processes that happen when converting a cutting list to raw timber requirements. How to calculate efficiently the best use of stock. i.e. whether to get thicker boards and resaw the smaller parts, or order smaller boards at a nearer width/thickness. How to plan for wastage. What amount of material to buy etc… it seems like a dark art. I’ve found lots of books that talk about prepping stock but nothing about how to decide what to buy.

im looking to make a couple of projects and I have cutting lists. But I have no wood stock pile so I need to purchase it all. Happy to start to build up a stock collection but with wood prices I wanna invest wisely.

any advice gratefully received.
thanks
Nic

I am very much a beginner myself so others will probably have better insight, but thought I'd share my thoughts hoping it helps.

For me one of the biggest driving factors is what size materials my workshop can process. For example I don't have a large enough bandsaw for resawing, so I either need to buy stock close to my final thickness or run it through the planer and accept the wastage. It's normally considerably cheaper to buy full sheets goods, however I have limited space and find it really difficult to maneuver a full sheet on my own, so I will buy smaller sheets accepting the cost increase.