Thicknesser advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jsjwilson

Established Member
Reaction score
So I am a relatively beginner hobby woodworker in the little spare time from full time work and family with 2 kids, and up until the summer I was only able to do things in the house with hand tools, moving from room to room as and when dust escaped and provoked marital stress. Since the autumn, I have had a garage space, and have picked up a few 2nd hand tools, including a war time walker turner.

The kids have also both have taken an interest in wood working too and both wanted woodworking space in the garage and books for christmas!! This is great, but the downside is they have also started tucking into my reclaimed wood ive built up over the years. However, we are very lucky to have gained a decent amount of wood thanks to recent storms (cedar, poplar, ash, large mature pine and fir I have cut in 3m lengths, most is around 50-60cm diameter, some almost 90cm, and small amounts of beach, maple, and cherry) and i have access to an alaskan mill to process this. This will take some time to cut and dry. However, I'd like to know what I should be looking for to prep this further so I can look out for a good deals over however long it takes. I have previously done some hand prep with hand planes, but while I can get things to a fine surface, I struggle to get things to a flat AND consistent thickness, which is probably just my lack of experience.

Eventually, I would like to be making tables, desks etc and jointing wood for this. I have started looking at jointers and thicknessers, but unlike other tools, these do not appear anywhere like as often as table saws, pillar drills, and they seem to maintain their higher price with age too. There is alot of machines out there too, so I'd really appreciate some advice on this.