New member in Scotland, beginner, needing lots of advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jsjwilson

Established Member
Reaction score
Thanks for accepting me to your workshop site. 8yrs after moving into our family house, I have finally cleared the years of rubbish from the large garage I am very lucky to have - literally tons of warped MDF, offcuts of kitchen cabinets, worktops, doors, windows, lengths of wood, variably damp . The garage used to have a saw mill in it some time ago, and there is still a cast iron base there which i presume is something to do with it, but more recently has been used by a joiner. Anyway, I am a beginner really. I
1000009393.jpg
have had all my stuff in the house, and every time I set myself up somewhere in the house, I just got criticised wherever I tried to do stuff, which is probably fair given the saw dust I made. Eventually, I gave up, until getting into the garage which I want to turn into my workshop. For me, wood work is about mindfulness, creativity, doing things with my hands, and ensuring the kids get exposed to this side of their potential working futures. My short term aim is setting up my workshop, investing in a table saw and pillar drill, and building a workbench. Long term, I'm probably nuts, but I would like to make windows for our house. Clearing the garage I've salvaged any potentially usable wood, plywood, and bonuses during the clear out include are a few chunks of ?mahogany, and an old jointer (which seems to be working ok). The other thing I'd like to do is set up a local men's shed. Anyway, hello to all.

pictures are some recent projects: nest box in progress, wall tool organiser, a picture of the ?mahogany, framing and repurposed door with chicken flap in old bunker, treehouse base, lower run of oak to try and match main headboard to stop pillows going down bed, and shave horse for the kids.