1st Compressor & Nailer Issues

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oscar43634

Established Member
Reaction score
So I pulled the trigger and bought my 1st compressor and nailer after reading lots of posts on here (Hyundai 24l and a Silverline 18g 50mm) but having issues with the nails not sinking in deep enough.

I used PTFE tape on the quick connector before screwing into the gun. I’ve set the regulator as high as it goes but the nails just aren’t going deeper than being slightly proud or if I put a lot of pressure on the gun it marks the wood. I can hear air leaking from around the trigger of the gun when I press it slightly but not sure if that’s a fault or just how they operate?
The compressor seems to max out at just above 90PSI. The hose I have is the cheapish one that came with the Hyundai kit, since all the kit is new and I’m new to air tools I’m a bit stumped at diagnosing or knowing if something is faulty.

Any help would be much appreciated thanks.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2021-07-01 at 19.30.34.png
    Screenshot 2021-07-01 at 19.30.34.png
    1.3 MB · Views: 58
I've just bought exactly the same combination this week - without the accessory kit. I'm waiting for a hose and some connectors to be delivered tomorrow, so will report back when i get chance

It doesn't have a depth setting, does it? Mine isn't the same make but has a wheel you spin to make the nails go in deeper or shallower

I've set the regulator to the maximum but still get inconsistent results. Seems odd.

On my parkside brad nailer, I've discovered that, if I use it by first pressing it against the wood and pulling the trigger, it works very well but if I get in a hurry and try holding the trigger and bumping along it leaves them a little proud.