Table Saw Danger

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hemsby

Established Member
Reaction score
I am sure most are familiar with the dangers of the good old table saws.

I am still not sure exactly what happened only that I was cutting a groove only 5mm deep in a piece of softwood using a push stick, clearly the stick made contact with the blade projecting it backwards into the underside of my forearm :cry: .

Fortunately the end of the stick had a large radius otherwise the damage would have far more serious, although it still managed to open a deep wound requiring stitches. The hospital doctor said he could see some of the Tendons.!!!! 8-[

I have 50 years of experience using machines such as this and hopefully like everyone treat them with the utmost respect, but accidents do happen.

Hopefully my experience may just be a reminder of the dangers even when paying attention to what you are doing.

I would post a picture of the injury for those interested in gore but the dressing is still in place :roll:

Regards

Keith

Show me the blood n gore :twisted:

Seriously though that does sound painful and by the sound of it you were lucky not to have done more damage,
hope all heals well :)

Keith,

Thanks for sharing your experience - eternal vigilance and all that.

I hope the wound heals well.

Kev

Hi,

Thank you,

By popular request, just a teaser will reveal the full Mony Tomorrow during dressing change.

Regards

Keith

First dressing change Today #-o Only happened on Tuesday but seems to be healing ok and everything is working =D> . Stitches out on Tuesday. Did a CSI type re enactment (without the blade rotating :idea: ) but still no wiser as to exactly what happened.
Managed to do a bit of organising in the workshop today, but will be a couple of weeks before I can do anything constructive.

Thank you for kind words,

Regards

Keith