SketchUp or hand sketching

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marazinas

Reaction score
Hey fellows.I am a full-time experienced woodworker with basic SketchUp skills wondering which way to choose going forward - learning Sketchup or hand sketching. What questions would you suggest I raise to myself to make a proper decision?

Walney Col":1klhp3fu said:
How much of a hassle would it be if having a computer to hand your entire working day was mandatory.
Not sure that's strictly true - printers do exist :)

As to the original question, I'd ask a couple of things:

1. Which method are you must comfortable using (putting aside your current skill level)
2. Do you struggle with accuracy when making projects?

I used to struggle with the second point when making large projects, and it could lead to wasted wood because I had miscalculated a measurement or two. I like the fact that I can design in sketchup and mark precise measurements for whatever I want, whether it's a rail or a tenon shoulder :)

I some how find that using SketchUp if I need to make some slight changes in prior steps in a project it is a real time waste, cause you acctualy change the whole project from the beggining. Thats why I feel like learning hand sketcing to create final design by hand before using SketchUp .

Hand sketching if you have the skill. Being able to quickly draw some sketches in front of a client would be a big bonus and show artistic flair before you have even touched a piece of wood. Sadly cant myself and use sketchup but it's not the same and lacks a certain something that the graphite on paper offers.

Walney Col":2ypntdif said:
MattRoberts":2ypntdif said:
Walney Col":2ypntdif said:
How much of a hassle would it be if having a computer to hand your entire working day was mandatory.
Not sure that's strictly true - printers do exist :)