Workshop DYI build plan - feedback needed

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tibi

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hello,

I would like to build my own workshop with size 4x4 m. The attic of the gable roof will be used as a storage area for unnecessary household items. I used to work as a self-taught engineering CAD designer, but I have little to none knowledge of timber construction, structural engineering and stress analysis, that I would be given in technical school.

I have created my own plan, but I have no idea if there are any design or structural flaws. I have constructed the workshop in a way that I can build it alone, except for erecting the queen trusses, where I would need a helper. As I cannot calculate the minimal cross-sections that are required, thus I have made deliberately the building more rigid.

All the joints will be made either by rigid connector angles and plates or two wooden members screwed directly with Torx wood screws.
WS-page-001.jpg

WS-page-002.jpg

WS-page-003.jpg

WS-page-004.jpg

WS-page-005.jpg

Any feedback is appreciated.

Thank you.

Attachments

• WS.pdf
    660.9 KB · Views: 9
Lovely set of plans you have there Tibi. Apart from the usual back and fourth about what base to build it on, my only real thought is that your walls need a fair amount more studs. You appear to have them on very wide centres. Typically (at least in the UK and US, I guess its the same everywhere else), you'd be looking at 600mm centres or if you're really worried about it, 400mm. Now that is in part due to the fact that we use sheet goods to clad them (inside or out) that ship in 1220x2440 sizes. Structurally I don't know if the NEED to be that close together, however.