Workshop Design/build advice - insulation

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hobbyshop

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi to everyone.

I am a complete newbie here, though I have spent a lot of time reading through the forums and learning a great deal.
It's a great site, particularly for someone like me who has very limited experience in woodworking anyway.

Any woodwork I have done to date has been done with a small range of power tools and hand tools in my detached garage, which is approximately 26ft x 12 ft, cold and a bit damp, and usually houses the car.

Now I have retired I have more time for hobbies and I am lucky enough to be able to add a workshop extension to the garage.

I have almost completed the drawings for the planning application and the workshop area will be approximately 300 sq. ft. in total.

I have decided the construction will be single skin block walls on strip foundations, with a concrete tiled pitched roof to blend the whole thing in with my bungalow. The walls will be pebble dash rendered externally.

I intend to have underfloor insulation installed (probably 4" expanded polystyrene), and I will have the roof insulated at rafter level. Not sure what thickness I should specify.

I was thinking of insulating the walls with 50mm Celotex (or equivalent) between battens with a plasterboard finish. But I am wondering whether I could get away without insulating the walls. It's already looking expensive, but I don't want to skimp on the insulation if it is important.

I had a visit from the Building Surveyor from the local council this week to discuss the requirement for Building Regulations approval, and he was very helpful, but since it is a workshop he doesn't really care whether I insulate it or not.