Insulating A Single Skin Brick Garage Workshop

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CrazyArsedMonkey

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello folks!

I am after some advice please. I have a detached single berth, single skin brick garage (or 1/2 brick width, as explained by @Lons in a similar thread), I have been using this as my workshop for the past 2 years.

I absolutely love being in my workshop, however, i need an Eskimo DNA transplant, or some insulation, as it gets chuffin' cold in there. I tend to lose myself in my work (keen hobbyist only), hence can easily be out there for 6 hours at a time, usually it is the cold that drives me in.

I have found several similar threads, but nothing that quite scratches my itch. For other's convenience, and to prove that i have done prior research, i have linked similar threads below:

Single Skin Brick Garage Workshop / Insulating A Detached Garage Workshop / Garage In Winter / Heating A Garage Workshop / Garage Workshop Advice

My workshop has an apex roof, terrible up and over garage door, double glazed window, composite door and concrete floor. It is rigged for electric with an Ed18 consumer unit, ring main and 16A socket. I think it is a pretty standard size, roughly 2.5m x 5m.

I will be making new doors which will be hinged at the sides, allowing toys machinery to be moved in and out on my own - i will make the doors thick, with some built in insulation. I am tempted to put gym style rubber mats down on the floor, providing some protection but would love to hear other ideas - especially ideas that have worked for other forum members!