Woodwork heaven

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ellisn

Established Member
Reaction score
February this year my girlfriend and I purchased a house in a village in Bulgaria, the house is in need of lots of work but it is surrounded by valleys and forest and comes with lots of land and a couple of barns. We decided we would move there as soon as we can, everything is so much cheaper there and the village life is like stepping back in time, people bringing you home made cheese and yoghurt, nearest thing to a traffic jam is a donkey in the road. I have always wanted to get into woodwork, my grandfather was always a carpenter and all my memories of him involve wood chippings saw dust ... oh and playing the spoons. But I have been a computer programmer and the last few years living in a flat so woodwork has just been something I thought was something I wish I could have done. Well now I have the space coming, a barn to convert into a workshop and a house that gives me so many excuses, doors, kitchen bathroom .. well everything needed.

So my first step, buy some books, see what tools were needed, I was told that the tools in Bulgaria are not good quality and can be hard to come by .. by a Bulgarian.. so my purchases are happening here and now. Ofc reading the books I have been buying table saws, routers, bandsaws, planner thicknessers etc, and the last few weeks have been like Christmas. All needing to be compact as they will have to be taken over with our furniture so nothing fantastic but the best I could afford and the ones recommended after searching the internet.