Wood-turning lathe

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

saleemtaibjee

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi
I have an opportunity to purchase a Coronet Herald lathe. I am new to wood-turning. It isn't cheap, but I get the impression that this is one of those moments when it might be worthwhile the investment. I would be grateful for views. Thanks

I bought an old arundel lathe from a chap on this forum a few months back. I'm so glad I did because it's great fun and I've been churning out projects I'm really proud of in next to no time. If the price is good and you can afford it, go for it.

The thread is different 3/4 16 tip, compared to M33 on the lathe, but I can see adaptors are available. So presumably this will work?

The thread is different 3/4 16 tip, compared to M33 on the lathe, but I can see adaptors are available. So presumably this will work?
3/4 16 is an obsolete thread size for woodturning lathes. M33 is the common thread now so why buy a chuck with an obsolete thread and buy a converter. Buy any chuck with the correct thread. Most chucks will work fine the only difference will be the available jaws available as jaws usually only fit that brand chuck with the exception of Record Power and Nova chucks which take each others jaws

Seconding akirk above, neat little lathe, heavy and has a feel of robustness about it. Knowing what I know about them I'd have no hesitation in recommending it.

Hi
I have an opportunity to purchase a Coronet Herald lathe. I am new to wood-turning. It isn't cheap, but I get the impression that this is one of those moments when it might be worthwhile the investment. I would be grateful for views. Thanks