Wood for windows

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Heath Robinson

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all.
I'd like a bit of advice and any thoughts on the design of windows, and which wood to use.
I'm building 5 windows to fit in the box body of a friend's 40's army truck. The interior of the box is beautiful, all wide boards of elm and yew.
The window apertures are all in the region of 615mm x 535mm, and the walls are about 65mm thick (there's about 7mm variance as standard, due to precision American manufacturing techniques). They all need to open, and I'll be using double glazed units for the glass. I'm thinking that a combination of plugged screws and tiger seal should hold the frames into the metal frame of the truck.
Any thoughts/hints/ideas on wood/jointing/sealing would be greatly appreciated, as I've never done anything like this before.

Thanks,
Jake

Definitely not painted! His tastes in wood are better than his taste in paint... The truck is currently black and purple, and before that, bright orange!
There's no colour of paint the would work with that outside, and the natural elm of the walls inside!
Idigibo is definitely a strong contender. I wish it was a little more figured, but you can't have everything...
I'll have a sketch, see what you guys think of my planned method of jointing the frames.
Thanks.

Idigbo has decent properties for windows but it has a couple of issues that you should be aware of. First, it's very soft and marks easily. Secondly, its very light. probably lighter than redwood and it doesn't "feel" like hardwood as you would expect. I personally avoid using it if I can.

What about elm or oak?

Hi.