WIP - Moxon Cabinet

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cowfoot

Established Member
Reaction score
Thought I'd weigh in with a work in progress thread.
I'm fairly new to woodwork so any tips, advice or criticism welcomed!

My mission is to build a cabinet to store tools that incorporates a Moxon vice and benchtop. The bench I built last year is perfect for planing, chopping mortices etc but not so comfortable for other stuff. I'm hoping to do a bit of inlay work in the future so a slightly higher work area would be nice. I've sketched out some plans and measurements but I'm guessing none of you can translate hieroglyphics so I won't bother scanning them in...

First things first, I headed over to Oxford Wood Recycling to see what they had in stock.
Shedloads of lovely old redwood, as it happens -

IMG_0329.JPG

IMG_0330.JPG

£40 for 30 metres of 2x4 with growth rings tighter than the last week in January, have some of that Wickes!
Trusty old Stanley 5 at the ready, I set about scrubbing them off before they go anywhere near the PT.

IMG_0331.JPG

Good thing too, as there were still a couple of nails lurking under that grime.
I'm back in the workshop this afternoon, more as it happens...

Attachments

• IMG_0329.JPG
    IMG_0329.JPG
    124.6 KB · Views: 1,755
  • IMG_0330.JPG
    IMG_0330.JPG
    116.3 KB · Views: 1,755
  • IMG_0331.JPG
    IMG_0331.JPG
    147.8 KB · Views: 1,755
This afternoon I've managed to stick it all through the planer/thicknesser.
I shelled out for a Record Power PT260 a while back...just after I'd spent days planing all the timber for my bench by hand, in fact. Working with hand tools is all very well, but I suspect Thomas Chippendale (or one of his apprentices) would have bitten your hand off if offered a planer!