Which lathe would you choose?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ozzaiii

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I graduated a few months ago and have since become pretty obsessed with the idea of wood turning (as much as I can be without having tried it!). I used to do a lot of woodwork as a kid (building chests, boxes, kits etc) and have been working in the garden last few weeks so I'm not a complete stranger to working with wood but I've never used a lathe before.

I've already learnt so much from watching videos and reading through forums (mainly this one) over the last couple of weeks but I'm still at a bit of a loss as to which lathe to choose and I know I've not scratched the surface!

So here's my question: I have next to no money (around £150) which I know won't get me anything decent but I'm eager to try my hand at turning. I've picked out some used models so if they really are dreadful I won't be out of pocket by too much. Which of the following would you choose?

I've found a near new SIP-01488 - around £50
SIP01488.jpg

also a used and pretty distraught looking Multico WL-37 - in top picture - which I'm sure is the same as the Clarke CWL12D & Ferm FHB940
$(KGrHqJ,!rIFI4iv5uRZBSPq4W,mdw~~48_80.JPG
IMG_0254.jpg

and also I did have an opportunity to get a Record Power RPML300 in good nick but I missed it and the only one I can find now looks pretty beat up so I'm currently waiting to hear back from the seller to see if he's got the base bars and tailstock.
$T2eC16R,!)IFIdgUs02QBSUEuuEErw~~48_80.JPG