Walnut Sanding and Finishing

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the_g_ster

Established Member
Reaction score
I have two questions that as a newbie I am a bit stumped on so far.

I have been using some walnut and got to point of finishing it. Having planed it all down I have taken a ROS to it in progressive grits down to 400. It's great except for there are very very small scratches even on 400 grit from the ROS. I am using a metabo 450 duo and applying light pressure, the pads are far from clogged as the dust extraction is excellent on the sander.

What is the best method of finishing this kind of wood to prepare for whatever coating without this little orbital marks.

Secondly I need to apply a water resistant coating to it. I have tried chestnut acrylic so far and looks okay, but I'd like a really good finish and without spraying I wondered what the best way to do this was. So far I have a pretty good finish, but like to get it as good as possible.

I have the same sander with an Axminster extractor that I can fit directly to the machine with their stepped adaptor and I don't have any problem sanding to a clear finish. I assume that you are using the Metabo sanding discs with the holes in the correct place? Rob

Hi the_g_ster.

I was always taught to finish by hand, going with the grain.

After using a ROS, and you look carefully, you will see little circular scratches.

I hope this is of some help.

Hi all

Can I just ask a couple of questions before trying to answer any?

How water resistant do you want your finish to be? Can you tell us what it is you are making and roughly what size it is?
What do you call a 'good finish'? Do you mean bright and glossy, something more subtle than that etc?
You've applied our Acrylic Sealer, is this as a sample or on the item you're making?

Thanks

the_g_ster":1oqkxzeg said: