Virtual Memory

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tim

Established Member
Reaction score
Smething seems to have slowed my PC down - keep getting low virtual memory messages. Haven't added anything new to it in the last few months and this has been happening for only a couple of weeks.

Any pointers or help please. I'm no techie so be gentle with long words.

Cheers

Virus? Trojan?

Possibly your Page File (ie where the virtual memory is stored on your hard disk) is getting fragmented..not easy to fix IIRC unless you use something like Perfect Disk (which costs money).

Disk fragmentation?

How much memory do you have and how much space allocated to your Virtual Memory. Seem to remember that the ratio between the two is important vis a vis poerformance and so if your VM setting has got changed/altered then that might explain it?

How much spare space have you got on your hard drive?

Empty the Recycle Bin ?

Huge amounts of IE cache and temporay internet files hogging up your disk which means that the Page File is having to work VERY HARD as its' now scattered to the four winds.

You don't have this problem with the Mac OSX (sorry...couldn't resist that one :wink: )

Tim

Not sure if you know this but virtual memory is actually hard disk space and used to be called a swap file. In windows, there is an option to manually allocate virtual memory space or to allow Windows to manage it for you.

You can check these settings from the control panel by clicking system>advanced>settings>advanced.

Assuming that the swap file is managed by Windows which is the default and dynamically sizes the swap file size, I would suggets that you have insufficient space on the C drive (swap file usually at C:\).