Turning Devon Minnows

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ross-L

Reaction score
Hi guys looking for some advice as a complete novice.

I do a lot of salmon fishing and one of the methods involves a small wooden lure called a Devon minnow, I'd really like to try making my own as the old timers I used to buy them off of down the river no longer fish and it could be fun experimenting with size/shapes.
BUT I don't have a clue how to turn them, I bought a cheap little hobby lathe which doesn't look like its up to much but should be fine for these as they're about an inch or smaller(I'm using 16mm beach dowel).
The shaping is easy from my first attempt the issues I'm running into is the hole down the middle, doing it after is hard because it has to be perfect down the middle and I don't have a clue how id be able to turn it if i do the hole first.
I see they have a method for turning pens which looks good but relies on having a metal tube down the centre, these need to float so cant have that.

If you guys can give any advice id really appreciate it, ill attack a few pictures before as an example.

Ross

Devon1.JPG
Devon2.JPG

I'd have thought they'd still float, or at least float semi-submerged, with an aluminium tube down the middle.

Charity shops will sell you a fistful of tubular metal knitting needles for pennies, so it would be easy to try it out - tape the right length cutoff to a scrap of wood and throw it in the sink!

I'd have thought they'd still float, or at least float semi-submerged, with an aluminium tube down the middle.

Charity shops will sell you a fistful of tubular metal knitting needles for pennies, so it would be easy to try it out - tape the right length cutoff to a scrap of wood and throw it in the sink!