turning a pint "glass"

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Creampuff

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

A friend of mine popped round the other day while i was out in the shed making a mess.

at the time I was trying to make myself a lignum/bubinga mallet for carving, which to my amazement didn't turn out to bad, if a little smaller then i'd hoped.
anyway we got talking, and he asked if it would be possible to turn a Pint glass type vessel out of wood, once my fits of laughter had passed and I realised he was actually serious, I started thinking a bit and thought it might be a laugh to give it a go.

So any ideas what sort of wood I should use, and how I should go about it, being as I'm very new to turning, and have only ever turned a handful of bowls and a mallet.

Suggestions please?

Regards

Andy

Beech or sycamore are the usual woods for anything to do with food and drink. You will need to coat the inside with something like melamine lacquer. Several good coats will do it. If you use the different spirit based finishes the alcohol can react with it and cause problems so I wouldn't advise using the spray lacquers personally.

Pete

About 8 years or so back I was asked if I worked in metal at all because the guy wanted me to make a replica of my Selangor pewter pot for his cousin. I didn't but I told him I might be able to do one in wood?

Here is the result. It's maple and mahogany. The wall is about 2mm thick and parallel to the bottom. The base was mounted on a small tenon about 1/8" and he was chuffed to death with it.

Selangorepot-1.jpg

I was so pleased with it that when I needed to think of something different for my eldest grandsons christening I made a 2/3 size and pyrographed it

Jacobschristningpot.jpg

The date, etc. are on the other side.