Total novice here - glued a panel for a table and there is some cupping/not flat. Any advice on getting it flat & avoiding this for my next project?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dan James

Reaction score
I thought I would take up a little woodworking as a hobby for my spare time - it has always interested me and I need a new coffee table, so I thought why not start off with that?

I spend a good few quid on a bunch of tools and clamps and took a trip to the local timber merchant for some 100x25 PAR redwood which I cut to size, doweled (I have since found out dowels are not needed except with MDF) and glued it securing in clamps. It's real sturdy but it isn't flat - I have discovered that one of the lengths I got had a nasty twist, far left board in the below image is so twisted it doesn't lay flat so both sides need work I think. In this situation, how do I work with what I have? Would this be a job for a plane? looking for any advice!

7yf3iind4hsa1.jpg

2 things to consider
Timber will always move a bit. Looking at the ends of your boards, the growth rings always tend to straighten out during drying. You can either alternate the boards or accept a gentle curve which would be pulled flat by the underframe of the table
Also look at the planed edges of your boards if they are slightly out over 25mm they will be out a lot more over a couple of joints/board widths. Dont use the planed edge as supplied by the timber merchant. squareness is definately not guaranteed (or expected)
Dowels may not add a lot to the joint strength but they help with alignment and stop everything slipping around while clamping up
Ian