Titanium hammers?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
That's not necessarily true. I have a 16 oz hammer that hits a nail in faster than my old 22 oz estwing. I'm a framer by trade, and got it through a secret Santa trade. I thought it was a gimmick, but after using it, I would never go back. It is balanced totally different , eliminating weight in places not needed for the hit.
I used to build quality shed and hammered in 60mm nails though 22mm cladding all day with a 20oz stanley and ended up with a sprained wrist and bulge in muscle just beyond the wrist.
16oz will take longer but your wrist will thankyou unless your Popeye!!

I watch people doing things/using tools and so many have a rigid arm/wrist like when painting wrist rigid just bending arm and looks dam awful!
I agree, I was advised years ago to use a saw with a loose grip and a loose wrist, the saw should glide through /across the wood in relaxed long strokes. broadly speaking I think the same applies to a lot of tools

Buy whatever you want doug.....
Put a different way, buy it, try it, if you dont like it you can sell it 'hardly used' in a couple of weeks and get most of the money back...... or, of it's fantastic, let us know how / why! 👍

Well it's looking like everyone who owns them rates them highly so think I might give one a try and as Kev says I can always sell it on.

Thanks for all the input, very helpful.

I used to build quality shed and hammered in 60mm nails though 22mm cladding all day with a 20oz stanley and ended up with a sprained wrist and bulge in muscle just beyond the wrist.
16oz will take longer but your wrist will thankyou unless your Popeye!!