Timber Suppliers: Where to buy and how is it priced?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Riddler

Reaction score
Hello there,

I'm a quite a beginner to woodworking and my projects so far have involved using softwood (pine) for making frames, mainly because that was all I could get hold of (inexpensively) at the builders yard. I've read that hardwoods are better and not necessarily that much more expensive. I'd like to know:

1. How much more is a hardwood such as white oak in comparison to a softwood such as pine?

2. How is timber from a supplier priced (I've read stuff about cubic ft but not sure)?

3. Do they have minimum order quantities?

4. Who is good supplier to go to (I'm based in Birmingham)?

If someone could help me out with these questions, that'd be great and hopefully set me on my way to making some solid joints!

Tim. :D

Hi Riddler, welcome

1. True pine and American White oak are very close in price
2. Sold per cubic foot i.e. a 12" wide board by 1" thick by 12' long also cubic metre( don't even go there.
3.Some suppliers will have a minimum quantity or add a surcharge, they may add up to 25% if you don't order at least,say, 20 cubes.
You should go to the timber yard, doff your cap and smile they'll usually try and accomodate you, it may work out expensive to start with but as you gain confidence, try other yards and if you sound like you know what you're talking about you'll get a fair price.
4. Birmingham ? sorry can't help.

Dom

Tim

If you are in the north of Birmingham you could try Great Barr Sawmills who stock small quantities of hardwoods. May be an option if you just want something to try.

Bob

I think this is such a big issue for us newbies that we could do with a guide along the lines of "How not to look like a Complete Numpty at the Timber Merchants", or "Beyond B&Q".