Table saws: is kickback feasible with a riving knife?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sploo

Somewhat extinguished member
Reaction score
I've just bought my first table saw (an Axminster TS-200) and whilst I've been using a variety of tools and machinery for years, I've no prior experience with table saws.

Obviously a good percentage of the info out there on the web is US centric; which tends to mean no riving knife, and the blade guard "removed for clarity" (*cough*). I've read (and watched) plenty about the perils of kickback, but I've not seen a single instance of someone claiming they got a kickback with a riving knife present.

I suppose it might just be possible (especially if you tried to induce it), but, assuming your fence is acceptably parallel, the blade isn't wobbling, and the knife is correctly installed, is there a scenario where kickback may occur? The only one I can think of would be for material to pinch the rear side of the blade before it gets as far as the knife, but I assume that'd require extreme movement from the material being cut.

On a mildly related subject; with the guard installed on the knife on the TS-200, you can't get a full depth of cut. Other than the simple fact the blade would be exposed, are there any particular extra dangers of removing the guard (but not the knife) in order to do a full depth cut? I'm thinking of something other than the obvious extra load on the machine due to the depth - i.e. are issues of kickback (or something else) more likely?

Finally, if I were to modify a riving knife so that it was about 1mm below the top of the blade (such that I could cut thin dados or box joints) are there any particular extra safety issues? (other than the fact there would be no guard, and there would be a tiny amount of the top of the saw that was not being shadowed by the knife)