Table saw buying advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikey78

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello guys :D
I haven't seen any section for presentation, so I will shortly introduce myself here.
I'm a young Italian woodworker and a few years ago I've lived for a while in UK,
then I came back to my country always keeping with me a good memory of your Country.
I've a very rubbish table saw, I'm feed up with it and am looking for an upgrade !!!
My shop is very small and although my dream would be a proper cabinet saw I have no space for it
so I need something smaller and lighter in the size of a 10" contactor saw,
with cast iron top and a quiet induction engine :p
If I was in the USA market there would be no problem in buying my new saw (Delta, Craftsmann, Rigid, and so on ...),
but in Europe as you all know buying a decent small size table saw is a nightmare :x .
The only american style 10" cntractor saw I managed to find is the Xcalibur ( am I right ?) ...
I know some of you members have this saw and are happy with the overall quality of the saw but,
searching the forum I didn't find any recent discussion on this machine
so it would be great if any of you wanted to share his thoughts about the saw !!!
Furthermore I have seen this saw shamefully advertised (no specifications no pictures) on two different websites : woodfordtooling and woodfordwm
And have heard that there is an older and a new version of the saw, with right and left tilt, different prices . . .
It's a mess could you please help me to understand which one is more suitable for my needing
( and wallet of course) ???
P.S. Sorry for my poor English :oops:

Ciao Mikey, benvenuto!

Tutto bene?

I have the TC10RAA (non sliding table version) and until recently it was my only table saw (I recently purchased a Startrite 257DS that needed some work)