Surplus stock of hard wood bits n pieces

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hivisvest72

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Just found this forum and having a quick look round at some posts it seems really good.

I'm a very hobbyist woodworker and have accumulated a pile of hardwood bits and pieces. A variety of shapes and sizes and types of wood (oak, sycamore, mahogony, maple) but not enough of any of it to make anything decent (no long lengths suitable for furniture etc).

I guess some of it might be suitable for turning, but I'm not a wood-turner so wouldn't know for sure.

Does anyone have any ideas for how to dispose of or sell this type of stuff?

Cheers

welcome hivis. pictures might help work out what it is you have and an idea of your location.

Thanks for the response - good point!!

I'll sort some pictures in the next few days - I'm in Halifax in West Yorkshire if it helps too.

I thought of contacting my local technical education college, to see if they could use it for their classes.

There is also the remote possibility that while spending hours staring at it all, inspiration might hit me and I'll emerge through a cloud of sawdust a week later (wearing the appropriate protective gear of course) with a piece of art the Tate Modern would be proud of!

Cheers

Well I'm sure it might be useful for anyone local. It depends on the sizes. Small board material will be of interest to box makers. Chunkier bits will be of interest to the turner.

This is what it's like when it accumulates.

DSC_1156.JPG

DSC_1157.JPG

DSC_1159.JPG

:lol: ..and that's only half of it!

wizer":2yydg11c said:
Well I'm sure it might be useful for anyone local. It depends on the sizes. Small board material will be of interest to box makers. Chunkier bits will be of interest to the turner.

DSC_1156.JPG

DSC_1157.JPG

DSC_1159.JPG