Starting Out

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grumpy6165

Reaction score
I work in a school where I have access to a wide range of hand, power tools and machinery. I am looking to improve my woodworking skills.

I have purchased "The Practical Woodwoorker" by Stephen Corbett which is very useful; and in addition subscribed to "Woodworking for Mere Mortals" on Youtube which provides a laid back way of wordworking.

I understand making simple toys and boxes is a way to proceed for developing techniques.

However is there a webstie, course or Youtube clips that would provide a more visual training program that anybody could recommend.

Hi

I'd recommend reading more good books, forgetting You Tube and trying to find some local craftsmen to discuss progression / techniques with.

I'm firmly of the opinion You Tube does more damage than good.

Regards Mick

I started out by subscribing to some of the woodworking magazines and watching every episode of The New Yankee Workshop. This was a good way of understanding the subject and various methods of doing things. This did take several years as i think there are 11 seasons (years) worth of NYW.
i now watch them again or read magazines and think "why are they doing it that way". Its a good way to start as a hobbiest.

rspsteve":3a3xow8y said:

Hi

Because the unregulated nature of You Tube and other similar formats allows anyone to promote their take on whatever. Anyone new to a discipline will not necessarily have the knowledge to discern between good and bad information.

Regards Mick

Spindle":3cuywyzm said:
rspsteve":3cuywyzm said:

Hi

Because the unregulated nature of You Tube and other similar formats allows anyone to promote their take on whatever. Anyone new to a discipline will not necessarily have the knowledge to discern between good and bad information.

Regards Mick

I agree.