Newbie - expect silly questions :)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peter907

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi I'm Pete.
I'm retired and plan to try my hand at a few woodworking projects and improve my skills, hence joining this forum as I know I'll need lots of guidance as my ideas surpass my woodworking skills. I get a kick out of creating something out of nothing, and have previously done this by programming computer graphics using a lot of maths. Apart from simple (boring) household DIY woodworking chores, I'm a beginner with wood but have made a mini greenhouse, a potting table, an insect house and a wind spinner, all of which provided great enjoyment, photos attached. I have various basic hand and power tools and have recently had a big clear out in the garage to make it more suitable as a basic workshop. I will make a small dust extraction cyclone collector and plan to buy some new toys to kit out the workshop, initially a scroll saw, then a basic CNC router.
Here's my first query...
My current project involves cutting several 200mm diameter circles from 18mm Baltic Birch ply. I need to produce accurate circles with top and bottom edges as clean as possible since I will be glueing them together. I am prepared to practice and learn from some trial and error to create a good finish. I'm using a basic Bosch POF 1400 ACE and have a suitable trammel. I know I will need to take my time and cut just 3mm depth each pass. I've looked on Amazon and have in my basket some "up and down cut" spiral router bits that are said to maintain a much cleaner edge. Are these the way to go? Am I better using a smaller or larger diameter cutter? I've been scouring YouTube routing videos, so understand the basics, but any more specific tips and advice on this would be very helpful.
Thanks in advance,
Pete.

Attachments

• 20191223_172519.jpg