Some advice please if possible

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rebster60

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi
I wondered if anyone can advise me at all.
I have a shed in my garden that I do my woodwork in.
I am quite new to this hobby. In my shed I have an 8" thicknesser, and a table saw, router table and biscuit joiner.
Am I OK using these in my shed, obviously the table saw and thicknesser are quite loud bits of kit, or is there some kind of law I am breaking. Obviously I do not want to upset the neighbors, and I don't want to be using them if I am not allowed.

I don't know where to find this information out from, so thought I would ask the experienced people here.

Thanks in advance.
Dave.

I received a complaint about noise from Environmental Health. Not power tool noise, but noises from within my home. As it happens the complaint was dismissed as 'normal'. But the procedure was for EH to inform me and let me know the next steps. It was a standard letter and one they send out on receipt of a compaint - they told me that much. So I'd progress as you are an if there is a complaint, talk to the EH or Council and ask what the rules are, then if you are doing something wrong make changes. Chances are so long as you are not using them at anti social hours and not continously every day you'll be OK.

NB I speak only from experience and say what my plan of action would be. I have no real insight into the laws and processes.

I once had a complaint about a radio playing in the garden when I was painting (years ago) by a serious old battleaxe that lived next door. The bloke with the decibel meter came round and it was way below the legal threshold for what constitutes "noisy" so I would be very surprised if you're actually breaking the law.