SK100 Chuck equivalent.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sarah250617

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm relatively new to wood turning and have not long received my new Axminster lathe and I need a chuck. The SK100 is the one that is compatible with this lathe but it is rather pricey. Is there an alternative as I'm sure I've read somewhere that there could be but now can't find the article.
Any advice would be gratefully received. Thanks!

Find the thread of your lathe- probably m33x3.5 if it is new, but possibly 1"x8.- Then a huge range of chucks are available. Axminster will obviously recommend their own.

The sk100 is about £140 when I looked online. You may get something a little cheaper, the record power ones for example. I haven't used those though.

I've got a Versachuck, now sold by Beaufortink.co.uk. outs a great chuck and worth appropriate jaw carriers, can accept jaws from almost all suppliers now.

I recently got a SK100, mainly for the ability to swap jaws whilst leaving the carriers on. Also, I wanted the wood plate jaws. Its a nice chuck, but agreed it is expensive and the supplied chuck key is absurdly short..making the 'long' one a necessary additional purchase:mad:
For alternatives:

Nova SuperNova 2..nice chuck and if you shop about, you can find bundles with extra chuck jaws for decent prices. I used to have one and can recommend it. Very similar to the Record Power SC4..so that's a recommendation also.

I still have a Record Power SC3, but that's more of an alternative to the SK80..but still a great chuck and pretty cheap.

I very briefly had a Versachuck but encountered a few issues with it so my experience is very limited with that. Worth considering though.