sharpening turning tools

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richnfamous

Established Member
Reaction score
I've recently acquired some turning tools (Ashley Iles, mostly) which need a bit of tlc. I'm a beginner at turning so any advice about sharpening them to the best angles would be appreciated

Attachments

• turning tools.jpg
    turning tools.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 0
If it were me, I'd follow the angles already on the tools especially if their provenance suggests they came out of a turner's shop who knew what he or she was doing.

I turn between centers only, and I've by-and-large followed the angles as they were from the manufacturer and have never had any real trouble. Ignorance could be bliss, however. Turning is probably the only area where I wanted to 'just do it' rather than spending an inordinate amount of time on the theory of it all. YouTube presenters notwithstanding, it frankly doesn't take a lot of virtuosity or complexity in tool set up to turn a square stick round, then apply a few decorative elements. In other words, don't overcomplicate things. My now 14 year old daughter turns between centers about as well as me and can produce perfectly acceptable parts. She's been known to come home from ballet practice and if I'm turning walk straight to the lathe and ask to take over, standing there in her leotard and sweatshirt.

Last edited:
If it were me, I'd follow the angles already on the tools especially if their provenance suggests they came out of a turner's shop who knew what he or she was doing.